Olympic Bell Tower in Berlin
  deutsch  english  francais
  italiano  espaniol  polski

Sportforum

During the World Championship of Soccer in 2006, the stadium looked back on 100 years of sports-tradition. The "Berliner Rennverein" was founded to establish a track for horse racing in the upscale western part of Berlin in 1906. The architect Otto March was engaged for the construction work, charged with maintaining the "forest-character" of the area. The horse racetrack was already in use back in 1909. The original ticket-boxes still exist in the "Jesse-Owens-Allee".

A stadium located in the center of the horse racetrack was conceived in the early 1900’s, but could not be built due to lacking finances. Construction was eventually completed, and the stadium inaugurated, in 1913. Designated as the venue for the 1916 Olympic Games, unfortunately cancelled due to the First World War, the stadium provided seating for 30,000 spectators. After the war, the stadium served as the residence of a newly founded college for physical education. The college dedicated itself to the education of coaches, and to medical sports research. During the mid-1920's, the college obtained the area north of the racetrack, enabling the establishment of additional buildings and practice-areas. The sons of the stadium architect Otto March, Werner and Walter, won the competition to build the "Deutsches Sportforum" (German Sports Forum). Construction began, but had to be stopped at the end of the 1920's, once again due to financial problems. Berlin was chosen to host the XIth Olympic Games in 1931.

Werner March was selected to refurbish the already existing stadium. Shortly after Hitler came to power in 1933, a decisive change in the building plans was made. The NS regime decided to construct a larger stadium in the center of the Olympic grounds. Designed as a "prestige object" of the German Nazi Empire, the construction costs were immaterial; additionally, no extravagance was spared in attempting to impress the public, the media, and foreign governments with National Socialism’s purported accomplishments. During World War II, the stadium was slightly damaged. After the war, the British Military chose the German Sports Forum as their headquarters in Berlin, ensuring that the destroyed parts were rebuilt.

Glockenturm am Olympiastation in Berlin
  deutsch  english  francais
  italiano  espaniol  polski

Sportforum

Als 2006 der Startschuss zur Fußball-WM fiel, konnte der Standort auf eine 100jährige Sporttradition zurückblicken. 1906 erfolgte die Gründung des "Berliner Rennvereins", um im vornehmen Berliner Westen eine Pferderennbahn zu errichten. Der Architekt Otto March wurde mit den Bauarbeiten beauftragt, wobei der Waldcharakter der Gegend bewahrt bleiben sollte. Bereits 1909 konnte die 2.400 Meter lange Pferderennbahn eröffnet werden. Die Kassenhäuschen sind noch heute in der Jesse-Owens-Allee zu sehen.

Von Anfang an war ein Stadion im Zentrum der Rennbahn konzipiert, das jedoch wegen Finanzierungsschwierigkeiten erst 1913 eingeweiht werden konnte. Es fasste 30.000 Zuschauer und war als Austragungsort der für 1916 geplanten und wegen des Ersten Weltkriegs dann ausgefallenen Olympischen Spiele vorgesehen. Nach dem Krieg wurde das Stadion Sitz der neugegründeten Hochschule für Leibesübungen, die sich der Ausbildung von Sportlehrern und der medizinischen Erforschung des Sports widmete. Mitte der Zwanziger Jahre erhielt die Hochschule ein Gelände nördlich der Rennbahn, um darauf alle notwendigen Gebäude und Trainingsflächen zu errichten. Die Söhne des Stadionarchitekten, Werner und Walter March, gingen als Sieger im Architekturwettbewerb für das sogenannte "Deutsche Sportforum" hervor. Mit den Bauarbeiten wurde zwar begonnen, jedoch mussten sie Ende der 20iger Jahre wegen Geldmangel eingestellt werden. 1930 bewarb sich Berlin erfolgreich als Austragungsort für die XI. Olympischen Spiele.

Werner March wurde mit dem Umbau des vorhandenen Stadions beauftragt. Unmittelbar nach 1933 erfolgte eine entscheidende Änderung der Baupläne: Der Neubau eines Großstadions inmitten weiträumiger Anlagen machte das Olympiagelände zu einem Prestigeobjekt des Deutschen Reichs, für das keine Kosten und kein Aufwand gescheut wurden. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wird das Stadiongelände vergleichsweise leicht durch Granateinwirkung beschädigt. Nach dem Krieg wählen die britischen Streitkräfte das Gelände des Deutschen Sportforums zu ihrem Hauptquartier in Berlin. In ihrem Auftrag werden die zerstörten Teile der Gesamtanlage sukzessive wieder hergestellt.

Über die zukünftigen Planungen auf dem Olympiagelänge informiert Sie die folgende Webseite: www.zukunft-olympiapark-berlin.de